Benin Map

About 42 African ethnic groups live in this country; these various groups settled in Benin at different times and have also migrated within the country. Ethnic groups include:

  • the Yoruba in the southeast and centre
  • the Dendi in the north-central area
  • the Bariba and the Fula (or Fulani, Fulbe, Peul)
  • the Betammaribe and the Somba in the Atacora Range
  • the Fon in the area around Abomey in the South Central
  • the Mina, Xweda, and Aja on the coast.


Benin Tribal map