Democratic Republic of the Congo

In 2018, the United Nations estimated the country's population to be 84 million people. As many as 250 ethnic groups have been identified and named.

Together, Mongo, Luba, Kongo peoples, Mangbetu and the Azande peoples constitute around 45% of the population. The Kongo people are the largest ethnic group in the Democratic Republic of Congo.

About 600,000 Pygmies are the aboriginal people of the DR Congo.

The major kingdoms were those of the Kongo, Teke (Bateke), Luba, Pende, Yaka, Lunda, Songe, Tetela, and Kuba peoples.

Major cultural clusters today include the Mongo, the Kongo, the Luba, the Lunda, the Bembe, and the Kasai.